Blame it on the brie

Breakfast

Today I indulge in a double ristretto coffee which, I know, is hipster. Very hipster. I tell myself I get a free pass on Saturday mornings. I manage to avoid coffee for the rest of the day. Tick. Coffee is followed by toast and jam, and we buy a loaf of bread straight from the bakery on our way out. No plastic here. Double tick.

Lunch

Delicatessens are wondrous things. They sell you cheese wrapped in paper, carefully carved from wheels twice the size of your head. They stock cheeses like Maasdam from The Netherlands: a fragrant, springy Dutch take on the Swiss Emmental. We shave slivers off it to melt over toast. For some reason, we also opt for one of the pre-cut slices of brie covered in cling wrap. Fail.

Combined with our café breakfast, this is not our cheapest day.

Dinner

Nothing to see here. Today’s offering is left-over home-made pesto courtesy of the fridge, and pasta which came from a plastic packet already in the pantry. I cheated, I guess.

Total plastic: a piece of cling wrap, one band-aid, pasta packaging from the pantry

Things I used instead of plastic: paper, failure

Leave a Reply

